top of page


2018 Annual Meeting in Review


52th Annual Meeting of the 63rd Infantry Division Association USAR



The 63rd Infantry Division USAR Association annual meeting was held on 29 April 2018 at the Hotel Fullerton located in Fullerton California.  The meeting began at 1100 hours in the Crystal Room of the hotel with a social hour during which attendees had an opportunity to renew acquaintances with others in attendance. 


Following the social hour, President BG Chuck Ebner opened the meeting at 1215 hours, with the Pledge of Allegiance lead by CSM Robie Roberson and an Invocation by COL (CH) Don Forden.    The meeting was then recessed for the service of the luncheon buffet. 


The meeting was reconvened at 1310 hours by BG Ebner.  He explained to the attendees that once again the Board of Directors has determined that rather than have a “guest speaker” we would once again call on our members to introduce themselves and to tell the other members something about themselves, their service in the USAR, the Army or what they have been doing since leaving the Army Reserve.  He started by introducing our first member, CSM Roberson.    CSM Roberson introduced the Nakamura family, whose son, Paul Jr, lost his life in the Iraq war and has been honored by having the headquarters building for the 79th Theater Support Command named after him.  Following this introduction the remaining members in attendance addressed the meeting.


At 1435 hours, COL Ben Colcol, the Membership Chairman introduced two new members, COL Bob Allen, and CSM Michael Crespo.  Following the introduction BG Ebner make a presentation on the opportunity that our association has to be a part of the National Museum of the US Army now being constructed at Ft. Belvoir, VA.  He asked for the memberships support in our efforts to raise $2,500 so that the 63D Infantry Division Association, USAR will be a part of the donor wall in the Veterans Hall which will be an important part of the museum.     Following the presentation COL Jim Wisenbaker conducted the official business part of the meeting by calling for nominations for Board Membership.    He explained that there were 5 Executive Board positions open for election this year and that Board Members COL Lydia Collins, CSM Robert Roberson and COL Rick Garza are willing to serve for an additional two year term on the board.  He also explained that Board Member CSM Greenberg and SFC Davis have chosen not to seek reappointment to the board.  He then called for nominations from the floor.  No other nominations were made from the floor.  Following a motion by MG Bob Lame the membership affirmed by a voice vote the re-election of Board Members Collins, Roberson, and Garza.      


Following the election BG Ebner pointed out to the membership the difficulty in finding members who were willing to serve on the 11 person Executive Board and suggested that the Board study this issue and return next year with a recommendation to reduce the size of the Executive Board.  With that the business portion of the meeting was concluded.


LTC Bev Houghton conducted the Opportunity Drawing assisted by  granddaughter Ryley Bryson.   COL (CH) Don Forden offered a Benediction and President BG Ebner the closed formal meeting at 1445 Hours reminding those in attendance that next year’s meeting will be on Sunday 28 April 2019.   

bottom of page